Wisconsin has gone from what was formerly known as DUI (DWI) or drunken driving to an Operating Intoxicated (OWI). To violate the DUI law, blood alcohol must be at least 08 percent and if it is higher than 14 percent, you can be charged with extreme DUI. If it is a first offense and your blood alcohol level (BAC) is 08% or higher, you are an "OWI" or "Operating Intoxicated" in Wisconsin.
A conviction for drunk driving could result in a fine of up to $1,000 and / or a year in prison - ordered alcohol therapy. A DUI conviction can carry a maximum of five years in prison and a $2,500 fine, and can mean years of fines and court costs, participation in drunken driving, hospitalization in a rehab clinic and more.
If you get a DUI conviction, you are at increased risk of going to prison for a longer period of time and / or going to prison for a longer period of time.
How long a DUI conviction remains on your criminal record and how long your license is used by the DMV depends on the state you live in. If you have a commercial driving licence (CDL) and are accused of being drunk behind the wheel of a passenger car, you will lose your licence. Drive by revocation, you will receive a charge for operating, your license will be suspended, and if you are arrested or convicted of DUI again, the system will treat you as a first offender and remove your DUI from your criminal record.
You want to make sure your attorney specializes in DUI law, but you still wanted to do some background research on the name you received. If you find a lawyer who claims to have experience of DUI laws, ask him about his background and what type of client he has represented in the past.
To determine if a lawyer has been disciplined, visit the Wisconsin State Bar website and search for the attorney's name. The Wisconsin Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers does not accept criminal defense motions and will not provide evidence that you are a member, although we do not discriminate against attorneys whose past defense work is not credited to DUI. NCDD has a limited license, which bars you from practicing DUI defense, but not from lawyers themselves who practice it.
At Legal Giant, our network of lawyers understands that many applicants in Wauwatosa, WI, care for their families and do not have the time to deal with the SSA while it reviews their claims. It is vital to hire an experienced city criminal defense attorney who can provide competent representation. Hiring a lawyer to represent you for drunk driving is not difficult, but it is easy to reduce the fine or eliminate it altogether. Many criminal defense lawyers sit drunk at the wheel of a car, and the better you deal with it, the more likely your criminal case is to get better.
Having a lawyer can give you the assurance that you have an expert who understands the legal system and has experience driving drunk cars. Wolff & Sonderhouse is pursuing the best way to resolve your legal issues, and we are well positioned to provide a thorough legal defense as our Wisconsin OWI attorneys have defended drunk driving cases in Milwaukee and across the state, including one attorney who has served with the Brookfield Police Department for over a decade. In the long run, a lawyer can reduce the impact of your criminal proceedings on your family, your health and your financial well-being - your being.
For Waukesha and Milwaukee DUI attorneys, our experience with Wolff & Sonderhouse LLP makes it easy to learn about police failings. DUI attorney has extensive experience with the Milwaukee Police Department, Milwaukee County Sheriff's Department and Wisconsin State Patrol.
Learn more about Readfield Lawyers in the Justia Legal Services Lawyers Directory, which includes more than 1,000 attorneys licensed in the United States. Search for background checks and view arrest footage to inform Waukesha and Milwaukee DUI attorneys, find phone numbers, directions and more.
Rizzo & Diersen's team represents drivers from other states charged with DUI or OWI in Wisconsin. Penalties for WIW misdemeanors will range from 5 days to 1 year and will be served in the county jail. The maximum penalty for drunk driving under the age of 18 in Waukesha County is reduced to one year in prison and a fine of up to $500 or dropped.
To speak to a DUI or OWI defense attorney in Wisconsin, please contact Rizzo & Diersen at (414) 271-1440 or contact us online. For more information on DUI and O WIWI charges in Waukesha County, Wisconsin, call 414-271-1414.
Call your attorney to meet with a drunk driver in Milwaukee, Waukesha, Brookfield or southeastern Wisconsin. Cleghorn Defense specializes in building aggressive defense rights for DUI and OWI lawsuits in Wisconsin and other states. Contact a defense attorney at Wolff & Sonderhouse at (262) 232-6699 or arrange a free consultation to discuss the Clemson defense structure.